Counties Unite to Support Stay-at-Home Health Advisories

Six Ohio counties joined Montgomery County to support the Public Health advisory urging citizens to stay home as much as possible. The seven counties displayed a unified front encouraging people to avoid large gatherings, wear masks and avoid unnecessary travel.

Participating counties include Montgomery, Franklin, Cuyahoga, Hamilton, Summit, Mahoning, and Lucas. All seven counties issued a stay-at-home health advisory, in partnership with their administrations, boards of health, and their largest cities.

Montgomery County Commissioners President Judy Dodge, said, “I know this is a special time of year when we love to be around our extended families and friends. But ultimately, in order to keep those families and friends safe so we can be with them later, we have to make this sacrifice now. And while a Zoom session with our extended families isn’t the same as getting hugs, we know it’s the right thing to do.”

The advisories are consistent with the orders of Governor Mike DeWine and the Ohio Department of Health. Besides the stay-at-home advisories, the Governor has mandated a curfew in effect from 10 p.m. to 5 a.m.

“Cases and hospital admissions are at the highest levels we have seen during this pandemic so far,” said Hamilton County Board of Commissioners President Denise Driehaus. “These county health advisories reflect the urgent need for all of us to protect ourselves and our families to stop the spread of this virus.”

Healthcare leaders and elected officials are particularly concerned about the activities related to this holiday week and the ability of hospitals to manage a rapidly growing number of patients.