Montgomery County Issues Emergency Declaration due to COVID-19

Montgomery County Issues Emergency Declaration due to COVID-19 Pandemic

 Dayton, Ohio (March 17, 2020) – Today, the Montgomery County Board of County Commissioners passed a resolution to declare a state of emergency for Montgomery County during their normal scheduled public meeting. Ohio Governor Mike DeWine issued an executive order last week declaring a state of emergency for Ohio.

Montgomery County Commission President Judy Dodge said the vote is a step forward in the county’s fight against the COVID-19 pandemic. “Yesterday, the County began transitioning to emergency operations, focusing our resources on only mission critical operations,” Dodge said. “Declaring a state of emergency is the best way for us to obtain the resources and support we need to address this pandemic, allowing us to keep our employees and the public safe.”

Montgomery County implemented a flexible leave-taking policy for all of employees, including adding two weeks of special vacation time, so that employees who are deemed non-essential can stay at home. This measure complies with current public health recommendations. The County will minimize or freeze any services that are not mission critical to protect employees and the public at large, including freezing non-essential hiring or spending.

All identified essential personnel will still report to work or work remotely where approved by their supervisor.

Additionally, the Montgomery County Commissioners have directed public offices and county employees to take necessary actions to continue offering critical, mission essential services in a way that still encourages social distancing. Online service applications, payment drop boxes, and use of telephones and email are the preferred methods for getting needed resources, including:

  • Applying and submitting for benefits at or calling (937) 225-4148.
  • Anyone who lost work because of COVID-19 is encouraged to apply for unemployment benefits online at or by calling (877) 644-6562.
  • Water bill payments can be made online at or over the phone at (937) 781-2688.
  • Building Regulations is closed for in-person service, but applications can be downloaded at  phone at (937) 225-4622. Completed applications and associated construction drawings may be sent to Montgomery County Building Regulations | 451 W. Third St., 10th Floor | Dayton, Ohio 45422. For any questions, please email


#  #  #