Montgomery County Begins Construction on CNG Fueling Station

On Wednesday, December 16, 2015, the Montgomery County Solid Waste District broke ground at the construction site for a Compressed Natural Gas Fueling Station in Moraine, Ohio, on the campus of the Montgomery County Solid Waste District Transfer and Recycling Facility.

The CNG station is scheduled to be completed and open to the public by May 2016.

“This CNG fueling station will provide another competitive advantage for Montgomery County as we aim to attract manufacturing and logistics companies, and it will assist existing local companies that rely on alternative fuels to power their business,” said Debbie Lieberman, president of the Montgomery County Board of County Commissioners.

The Solid Waste District has begun replacing its aging fleet with CNG fueled vehicles, a process that will be completed over the next twelve months. Converting the district’s fleet to CNG will reduce operational costs by about $150,000 per year. With an up-front investment of $4.5 million to build the station and purchase CNG vehicles, the district expects the CNG station to pay for itself within 20-30 years through fuel savings alone.

“Our hope is that this CNG station will help to drive economic growth, improve local air quality, and reduce our fleet fueling and maintenance costs,” Montgomery County Commissioner Judy Dodge said. “Our constituents expect us to help drive innovation and economic investment, and to be good stewards of our environment. This station is just one way we are meeting those expectations.”

The district has applied for a $750,000 Diesel Emissions Reduction Grant from the Ohio EPA to help fund the project and purchase additional CNG fueled vehicles. Grant winners will be announced in January 2016.

In November 2015, the Solid Waste District also completed a project to connect and extend Cardington Road between Encrete and SR-741. This additional entrance improves traffic flow in and around the transfer facility and the new CNG station.

About the Montgomery County Solid Waste District
The Montgomery County Solid Waste District is an innovative collaboration between all of the jurisdictions in Montgomery County, who came together to manage solid waste and recycling

for their citizens in a responsible and environmentally-sound manner. The District members include: Butler Township, City of Brookville, City of Centerville, City of Clayton, City of Dayton, City of Englewood, City of Huber Heights, City of Kettering, City of Miamisburg, City of Moraine, City of Oakwood, City of Riverside, City of Trotwood, City of Union, City of Vandalia, City of West Carrolton, Clay Township, German Township, Harrison Township, Jackson Township, Jefferson Township, Miami Township, Perry Township, Village of Farmersville, Village of Germantown, Village of New Lebanon, Village of Phillipsburg and Washington Township.

About Montgomery County Environmental Services
Montgomery County Department of Environmental Services provides trash disposal, recycling, drinking water distribution, and wastewater treatment to the citizens of Montgomery County. The department also offers educational outreach to local schools, communities, and businesses that want to learn more about conservation and sustainability in the Miami Valley region.