Criminal Division

Request email notification when page changes E-Notify

It is the primary responsibility of the Prosecuting Attorney to prosecute persons charged with felony offenses that occur anywhere within Montgomery County. Through the Criminal Division, the Prosecutor's Office annually reviews over 6,000 cases submitted for filing as felonies by the various law enforcement agencies. The Criminal Division consists of four trial teams; an intake section, which handles all preliminary hearing and grand jury matters; as well as a Violent Crimes Bureau.

The Violent Crimes Bureau was established in January, 1993., to target and fast track the most serious and dangerous offenders. Due to the serious nature and circumstances of felony cases, and the obvious importance and impact crime has on all citizens, the Criminal Division is the most visible division of the office.

Part of the Criminal Division, the Criminal Non-Support Unit gathers evidence and oversees the filing of felony charges against parents who refuse to pay court-ordered child support.

Phone: (937) 225-5757

Leon Daidone
Leon J. Daidone, Criminal Division Chief

Criminal Investigators:
Kerry Smoot
Jessi Simpson
Tyson Dillon

Violent Crimes Bureau (VCB):
John Amos
Dan Brandt
Lynda Dodd
Erin Claypoole

Secretary to First Assistant and Criminal Chief:
Tara Fought

Assistant Prosecuting Attorneys:
Ashley Adkinson
Michael Allen
Nicole Amrhein
Lisa Bruder
Whitney Crim
Matthew DeRosa
Franklin Gehres
Matt Joseph
Kelly Madzey - Trial Team Supervisor
Elizabeth McCormick
Shaun McPherron

Kimberly Melnick
- Trial Team Supervisor
David Merrell
Jacob Mosher
Amber Mullaly
Brandon Myers

Victoria Nilles
Elizabeth Orlando
Alyse Rettich
Jonathan Sauline
Alissa Schriner
Anthony Schoen - Trial Team Supervisor
Tom Schutzman
Dylan Smearcheck
Jimmy Staley

Jenny Weber - Trial Team Supervisor

District Court Attorney:

Greg Spears