Commissioner Lieberman

Request email notification when page changes E-Notify


  Lieberman no bevel        County Logo   Color

    Commissioner: Deborah A. Lieberman

    Phone: (937) 225-4015

    Send an E-Mail!

    Mailing Address:
    451 W. Third Street, 11th Floor
    P.O. Box 972
    Dayton, OH 45422-1110


After graduating from the University of Dayton School of Law, Debbie worked in real estate and with Legal Aid Society of Dayton. Debbie joined the Montgomery County Auditor’s Office as Director of Real Estate. She served in that position for 10 years before becoming the Chief Deputy Auditor in 2001.

Debbie served on the first City of Clayton Council and was re-elected in 2001. She was elected to the Montgomery County Commission in 2004 and is currently in her fifth term.

Debbie co-chairs with U.S. Judge Walter Rice, the Montgomery County Reentry Council. She serves on the Downtown Dayton Partnership Board. Debbie Co-Chaired the Culture Connects 20/20 Committee and serves on the Board of Directors of the Dayton Performing Arts Alliance.

Debbie is one of the leading champions for improving early childhood learning outcomes in Montgomery County, serving on the Learn to Earn Dayton Board and is also Co-Chair of the Preschool Promise Advisory Committee. She has served on the University of Dayton School of Law Alumni Committee.                                                                        

Debbie was recognized as a “Woman of Influence” by the Dayton Area YWCA. She received the “Champion for Children” award from Voices for Ohio’s Children and received the “Liberty Bell” award from the Dayton Bar Association for her work in Reentry. Debbie received the Southern Christian Leadership Conference National Coretta Scott King award for her efforts on inclusion and diversity. She was named one of the 2012 “Ten Top Women” by the Dayton Daily News.

The Dayton Business Journal named Debbie one of the “25 Most Influential People of the Decade”. They also named her as the “Top 25 Dayton-centric Twitter Accounts to Follow”. She was named the Dayton Business Journal Regional Leader of the Year in 2014, becoming the first elected official to receive that award. Women In Business Networking /Better Business Bureau (BBB) named Debbie a 2016 “25 Women to Watch”. In 2016, Debbie was awarded the Congressman Dave Hobson Dayton Region Advocate Award by the Dayton Development Coalition.

Debbie is the President of the County Commissioner’s Association of Ohio (CCAO). She currently serves on many of the association’s committees, including the Joint Committee on Administration of Elections.

Debbie is a current Governor’s appointee serving on the Ohio Housing Trust Fund. She previously co-chaired the Ohio Governor’s 21st Century Transportation Task Force and served on the Ohio Local Government Innovation Council.

Debbie was elected to the National Association of Counties Board of Directors in 2015 and is Chair of the Human Services and Education Steering Committee. She also was elected Chief Elected Official of the Greater Ohio Workforce Board (formerly Area 7), representing 42 Ohio counties.

Debbie has a rich family life with husband Dennis, a litigator and defense attorney. Debbie and Dennis have two sons, David and D.J.