Create a Website Account - Manage notification subscriptions, save form progress and more.
Those eligible must be 65 years of age or older or be permanently or totally disabled, meet annual state set income requirements, and own the home where they live as of January 1st or the year in which they apply.
Show All Answers
The Homestead Exemption program allows senior citizens and permanently and totally disabled Ohioans that meet annual state set income requirements to reduce their property tax burden by shielding some of the market value of their home from taxation.
In 2024, the Homestead Exemption, which takes the form of a credit on property tax bills, allows qualifying homeowners a reduction that is equal to the taxes that would otherwise be charged on up to $26,200 of the market value of their home.
Due to legislation passed in 2023, the exemption amount will be adjusted with inflation each year, starting in 2024.
Total income (for both the applicant and the applicants spouse) that can not exceed the amount set by state law (see Homestead Exemption Application (PDF)), which is adjusted annually for inflation. Total income is defined as the modified adjusted gross income (MAGI) for Ohio tax purposes. MAGI is essentially the Ohio adjusted gross income (OAGI) plus business income that has been deducted in computing OAGI on line 11 of Ohio Schedule A.
Yes. You may apply after the first Monday in January and on or before December 31st of the year in which you turn 65.
Applications must be received in the Auditor's Office on or before December 31st.
The Montgomery County Auditor's Homestead Hotline phone number is 937-225-4341.
To qualify, an Ohio resident must own and occupy a home as their principal place of residence as of January 1st of the year they apply, for either real property or manufactured home property.
For individuals who own more than one home, the principal place of residence is the home where the person is registered to vote and the person's place of residence for income tax purposes.
An individual can receive only one Homestead Exemption on one parcel of property.
Yes. Please contact the Consumer Service Department at 937-225-4314 and we will send you an application.
In terms of ownership, you are eligible for the Homestead Exemption if all of the following are true:
Qualified applicants who missed last year's deadline may also sign up on or before December 31st and still get a reduction on last year's taxes payable this year.
Current Homestead Exemption recipients do not need to reapply or do anything unless they have moved or had some change in their status.
Disabled applicants may attach a disability status form from a state or federal agency to the application. Or, disabled applicants may complete the Certificate of Disability found on the back of the Homestead Exemption application form. A doctor or psychologist must certify that the applicant is totally and permanently disabled.
The surviving spouse of a person who was receiving the previous Homestead Exemption by reason of age or disability at the time of death can continue to receive the benefit, if the surviving spouse was at least 59 years of age on the date of the death of the deceased spouse.