Brother Ray Award

The Brother Raymond L. Fitz, SM., Ph.D. Award

Brother RayThe Montgomery County Family and Children First Council has created a tribute to Brother Raymond L. Fitz, SM., Ph.D., former president of the University of Dayton, for his years of leadership and service to the community on behalf of children and families, including serving as the first Chair of the Council.

The Brother Raymond L. Fitz, SM., Ph. D. Award will go to someone who exemplifies Brother Ray's dedication to the cause of nurturing and protecting children and families through their day-in and day-out efforts in the Montgomery County community. This person can be a paid employee, a volunteer for an organization, an "everyday citizen", or a combination of these. In whatever role, the winner will be someone who has regular, direct contact with children and families. Sometimes such a person is described as "front-line" or "grassroots", as opposed to being an administrator or executive or policy-maker.

Brother Ray Award

Brother Ray Award Nominations

Brother Raymond L. Fitz, SM., Ph.D. Award

Do you know someone who volunteers or works with your organization whom you think should be the next recipient?

Paying recognition to our community role models inspires others to get involved. Plus, the simple act of nominating an individual is, in a sense, a gesture of gratitude for the gifts and services they have given to the community. Submit your nominations via email


For hand-delivered or mailed nominations:

  • All entries must be typewritten or computer-generated
  • Provide 6 copies of the Nomination form, answers to questions, and any supplementary information

Deliver or Mail to:

Attention: Brother Ray Award Nominations
Montgomery County Human Services Planning and Development
117 S Main Street
Suite 5100
Dayton, OH 45422

The delivery method of submission will not bear weight during the selection process.

Brother Raymond L. Fitz Award Ceremony 2021

Past Award Honorees

2020 to 2021 - Gwendolyn Buchanon

Winner Gwendolyn Buchanon 2020 to 2021

2019 - Walter H Rice

Winner Walter Rice 2019

2018 - Rev. Sherry Gale and Rev. Vanessa Ward

Winner Sherry Gale and Vanessa Ward 2018

2017 - Stephen Gieb

Winner Stephen Geib 2017

2016 - Khadijah Ali

Winner Khadijah Ali 2016

2015 - James (Jim) Bowers

Winner Jim Bowers 2015

2014 - Beth Mann

Winner Beth Mann 2014

2013 - Elizabeth (Libby) Nicholson

Winner Libby Nicholson 2013

2012- Susan Caperna

Winner Susan Caperna 2012

2011- Carmen Gooden

Winner Carmen Gooden 2011

2010- Clinton Ralph Wilcoxson II

Winner C Ralph Wilcoxson 2010

2009 - Doris Edelmann

Winner Doris Edelmann 2009

Past Programs & Nominations