• Arts & Cultural District
  • Building Regulations
  • Community Development
  • CountyCorp
  • Economic Development
  • Memorial Hall
  • Planning Commission

    Arts & Cultural District

    For More Information, Contact Us:

    451 West Third Street, 10th Floor
    Dayton, OH 45422

    Matt Dunn - Executive Director, 937-224-3850

    Montgomery County believes its arts and cultural amenities play a valuable part in our quality of life, making the county a vibrant community in which to live, work, and play.

    Arts CollageThe Montgomery County Arts and Cultural District is not a geographic entertainment area. Rather, it is a government body similar to a school district or parks district. The Arts and Cultural District supports, nurtures, and encourages the development and preservation of arts and culture thoughout Montgomery County, primarily by funding arts and cultural organizations and institutions.

    While the County boasts a wide variety of arts and cultural organizations, the following institutions, destinations, and organizations make up our larger institutions and organizations. All of them are recipients of public funding by the Arts and Cultural District:

    Aullwood Audubon Center

    Boonshoft Museum of Discovery

    Dayton Art Institute

    Dayton Contemporary Dance Company (DCDC)

    Dayton History

    Dayton Performing Arts Alliance 
    (Ballet, Opera, Philharmonic)

    Dayton Public Radio
    (WDPR, 88.1 FM)

    Dayton Public Television 
    (ThinkTV, Channels 14/16)

    Dayton Visual Arts Center (DVAC)

    Human Race Theatre Company

    K-12 Gallery for Young People

    The Muse Machine

    Victoria Theatre Assocation
    (Operates Victoria Theatre, Schuster Center, Metropolitan Arts Center)

    We Care Arts


    Additionally, MCACD funds two community initiatives led by Culture Works, the community's local arts agency:

    • MCACD has provided Matching Gift funds to projects enrolled in Culture Works' Power2Give program
    • MCACD partnered with Culture Works in the development of Culture Connects 20/20, a Cultural Plan that identified and addresses community priorities within the Dayton Region’s arts and cultural sector. With the Plan completed and implementation underway, MCACD continues to support this important initiative.

    2015 Meetings of the Arts and Cultural District Board are all held at 4:00 p.m. at
    451 West Third Street, 10th Floor 

    January 29
    May 7
    September 3
    December 3

    The next meeting of the MCACD Grants Committee will be Friday, March 20 at 3:30 p.m.

    Changes to meeting dates and times and additional, ongoing information on all Board of Trustee meetings, its committees, and sub-committees will be posted here at www.mcohio.org/services/ced/art_cultural.html 

    For a roster of current board members, click here.