County Commissioner Debbie Lieberman Unanimously Elected to Lead State's Largest Workforce Investment Board

By a unanimous vote, Montgomery County Commission President Debbie Lieberman was elected to lead the state of Ohio’s Area 7 Workforce Investment Board.  Area 7 is the largest WIB in Ohio and is made up of 43 counties including Montgomery.

“It is truly an honor to lead this vital workforce consortium and I am confident that my experience at fostering innovative programs in Montgomery County will enhance the WIB’s efforts throughout this region,” said Commissioner Lieberman.  “Area 7’s WIB efforts are critical as we work to align our resources to meet the workforce needs of our businesses and increase employment opportunities for our citizens.”

Commissioner Lieberman was elected Area 7 WIB Chief Elected Official by County Commissioners from across Ohio.  The state’s WIBs are responsible for carrying out the requirements of the federal Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) including: 

• Increasing opportunities for individuals, particularly those with barriers to employment
• Supporting alignment of workforce investment, education, and economic development systems
• Providing workers with the skills and credentials to secure and advance employment
• Promoting improvement in the structure and delivery of services
• Increasing the prosperity of workers and employers
• Increasing the employment retention and earnings of participants and the attainment of recognized post-secondary credentials

WIOA programs are offered to adults, dislocated workers and youth between the ages of 14-24.

Area 7 Includes: Allen, Fayette, Jackson, Muskingum, Williams, Ashland, Fulton, Knox, Ottawa, Wood, Champaign, Gallia, Lawrence, Paulding, Wyandot, Clark, Greene, Licking, Preble, Clinton, Guernsey, Logan, Putnam, Coshocton, Hancock, Madison, Sandusky, Darke, Henry, Marion, Seneca, Defiance, Highland, Miami, Shelby, Delaware, Holmes, Montgomery, Union, Erie, Huron, Morrow, and Wayne Counties.

The election was held on Friday, October 16 at the County Commissioners’ Association of Ohio in Columbus.