• Application
  • Homestead FAQ's
  • Homestead Estimates
  • Email for Questions
  • Ohio Department of Taxation Homestead Exemption Program
  • Directory of County Auditors
  •  

    Homestead FAQ's

       

    Frequently Asked Questions about the Homestead Exemption Program

     
           
    questionmark   What is the Homestead Exemption program?  
        The Homestead Exemption program allows senior citizens and permanently and totally disabled Ohioans that meet annual state set income requirements to reduce their property tax burden by shielding some of the market value of their home from taxation.    
           
    questionmark   What kind of property tax savings will I receive?  
        The Homestead Exemption, which takes the form of a credit on property tax bills, allows qualifying homeowners a reduction that is equal to the taxes that would otherwise be charged on up to $25,000 of the market value of their home.  
           
    questionmark   Who is eligible for the Homestead Exemption program?  
        Those eligible must be 65 years of age or older, be permanently or totally disabled, must meet annual state set income requirements, and must own the home where they live as of January 1st or the year in which they apply.  
           
    questionmark   Is there an income restriction tied to eligibility with this program?  
        For those turning 65 in 2014, you must have a total income (for both the applicant and the applicants spouse) that does not exceed the amount set by state law, which is adjusted annually for inflation. Total income is defined as the adjusted gross income for Ohio tax purposes.  The current maximum allowed amount is $30,500 for the 2014 application period.  For those who turned 65 in 2013, and are not currently enrolled in the Homestead Program, you are still eligible without any income restrictions.  
           
    questionmark   I will turn 65 years of age later in the year, am I still eligible?  
        Yes. You may apply after the first Monday in January and on or before the first Monday in June of the year in which you turn 65.  
           
    questionmark   When is the last day to apply?  
        Applications must be received in the Auditor's Office on or before the first Monday in June.  
           
    questionmark   Who do I call if I have additional questions?  
        The Montgomery County Auditor's Homestead Hotline phone number is 225-4341.  
           
    questionmark   I own a vacation home out of state where I reside for a couple of months a year.  Do I still qualify?  
       
    • To qualify, an Ohio resident must own and occupy a home as their principal place of residence as of January 1st of the year they apply, for either real property or manufactured home property.
    • For individuals who own more than one home, the principal place of residence is the home where the person is registered to vote and the person's place of residence for income tax purposes.
    • An individual can receive only one Homestead Exemption on one parcel of property.
     
           
    questionmark   What constitutes homeownership?  
       

    Land contracts, life estates and qualified trusts meet the criteria for home ownership.

     
           
    questionmark   I am 65 years of age and live in a mobile home that I own.  Can I still qualify for this property tax credit?  
        Yes.  Please contact the Homestead Hotline at (937) 225-4314 and we will send you an application.  
           
    questionmark   I am 65 years of age or older, I own the home where I reside, but I do not live in Montgomery County. Can I still qualify for this program?  
        This is a statewide program.  You can call our Homestead Hotline number at 937-225-4341 and we can provide to you the phone number for your county's Auditor.  If you know that number, please call and ask your county's Auditor about the Homestead Exemption program.  
           
    questionmark   My children and I have set up a trust for my home.  Can I still qualify for this property tax credit?  
        In terms of ownership, you are eligible for the Homestead Exemption if all of the following are true:  
       
    • You created the trust to be effective during your lifetime (an inter vivos trust).
    • You provided the assets for the trust (you are the settlor).
    • You can terminate the trust at any time (it is a revocable trust).  
    • The trust agreement contains a provision that says you have complete possession of the property.
     
           
    questionmark   I missed last year's deadline. Can I still receive a Homestead Exemption for last year's taxes?  
        Qualified applicants who missed last year's deadline may also sign up on or before the 1st Monday in June and still get a reduction on last year's taxes payable this year.  
           
    questionmark   I know I receive the Homestead Exemption on my taxes.  Do I need to reapply every year?  
        Current Homestead Exemption recipients do not need to reapply or do anything unless they have moved or had some change in their status.  
           
    questionmark   I own the home where I reside and I am permanently and totally disabled. What do I need to do to sign up for the Homestead Exemption?  
        Disabled applicants may attach a disability status form from a state or federal agency to the application -OR-

    Disabled applicants may complete the Certificate of Disability found on the back of the Homestead Exemption application form. A doctor or psychologist must certify that the applicant is totally and permanently disabled.
     
           
    questionmark   I lost my spouse who was 65.  I, the surviving spouse, am 59 (less than 65 years of age). Can I continue to receive the Homestead Exemption on the home that we shared?  
        The surviving spouse of a person who was receiving the previous Homestead Exemption at the time of death, and where the surviving spouse was at least 59 years old on the date of death, can continue to receive the benefit.  
        For the purposes of the Homestead Exemption, the definition of a surviving spouse must be:  
       
    • The surviving spouse of a person who was receiving the Homestead Exemption by reason of age or disability for the year in which the death occurred,
    • And the surviving spouse must be at least 59 years old on the date of the death of the deceased spouse.