Request email notification when page changes E-Notify
veteransThe Montgomery County Veterans Service Commission is a county agency dedicated to serving Montgomery County veterans.

In May 1886 after the Civil War, the Ohio Legislature passed the Soldiers Relief Act, establishing the Soldiers Relief Commission, now known as the Veterans Service Commission. The Montgomery County Veterans Service Commission operates under ORC 5901.

The agency provides two distinct services:

  • Assistance when dealing with the VA (Veterans Administration) including compensation claims and widows' benefits.
  • Emergency financial assistance to eligible veterans and family members who have a demonstrated need.

The Montgomery County Veterans Service Commission has five members appointed by the Montgomery County Common Pleas Court. 

The five members appointed by the Common Pleas Court are representatives from:  American Legion; Veterans of Foreign Wars; Disabled American Veterans;  AMVETS;  and either the Military Order of the Purple Heart, the Vietnam Veterans of America, or the Korean War Veterans Association.

Commissioner Information: Ashley Webb, President - Army (American Legion) Tom Istvan, Vice-President - Air Force (VVA) John Chatman, Secretary - Army/Air Force (VFW) Jerry Hays - Navy/Marines (DAV) John Meeks - Army (AMVETS)


Commission meetings held the 2nd and 4th Wednesday of every month at 9 a.m. at the Veterans Service Center.