DOMESTIC VIOLENCE IS A CRIME IN OHIO
YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO BE SAFE
THIS INFORMATION SHEET PROVIDES OPTIONS
TO HELP PLAN FOR YOUR SAFETY
- Download the Domestic Violence Information Sheet in PDF Format
- Download the Juvenile Victim Resource Information Sheet in PDF Format
Get Your Court Date
To get your court date, call the Clerk of Court. Depending on the court, suspects may be arraigned within hours of arrest.
However, it may be 7 days before the clerk's office can provide other court dates.
- Dayton Municipal Court – 333-4314
- Kettering Municipal Court – 296-2461, select option 3, then select option 0
- Miamisburg Municipal Court – 866-2203, dial 0
- Montgomery County Area 1 Court (New Lebanon) – 687-9099, select option 1, select option 1
- Montgomery County Area 2 Court (Huber Heights) – 496-7231, select option 1, select option 1
- Montgomery County Common Pleas Court – 225-6000
- Oakwood Municipal Court – 293-3058
- Vandalia Municipal Court – 898-3996, select option 6
Call the Jail
EVEN IF YOUR ABUSER WAS ARRESTED, YOU STILL NEED TO PLAN FOR YOUR FUTURE SAFETY. YOUR ABUSER MAY BE RELEASED ON BAIL WITHOUT NOTICE TO YOU. TO FIND OUT IF YOUR ABUSER IS IN JAIL, YOU CAN CALL THE MONTGOMERY COUNTY JAIL AT 225-4160, CALL THE DV HOTLINE AT 222-SAFE (7233), OR GO TO WWW.MIAMIVALLEYJAILS.ORG. BE SURE TO USE A SAFE COMPUTER!
Call Pre-Trial Services
If you want to give information to the court to consider before bail is set, call 225-3479. Caution – may not be confidential.
Develop a Safety Plan
Once abuse has started, it is likely to continue and get worse. Make a plan to protect yourself and your children. If your children are old enough, share the safety plan with them. If you are planning to leave your abuser, keep in mind that your abuser is likely to become more violent and/or unpredictable during or just prior to separation. It may be safer not to tell your abuser you plan to leave. Please call the Domestic Violence Hotline at 937-222-SAFE (7233) to discuss options about how to stay safe.
HELP FOR YOU AND YOUR CHILDREN
In an Emergency – Call 911 or Your Local Law Enforcement Agency
Domestic Violence Hotline – 937-222-SAFE (7233)
- Deaf individuals using Video Relay can ask for: 937-222-SAFE (7233); TTY: 937-461-7910
- 24 Hour Response, including Safety Planning
- 24 Hour Domestic Violence Hotline 937-222-SAFE (7233) Deaf individuals using Video Relay can ask for: 937-222-SAFE (7233) TTY: 937-461-7910 Business Line 937-461-5091
- Provides information & referrals, legal information, court accompaniment, emotional support, support groups, and assistance with getting Protection Orders and applying for Crime Victim Compensation. Accepts collect calls. No fees for services.
- Therapy for Children – From birth to 18 years. No fees for services.
- www.artemiscenter.org Be Sure to Use a Safe Computer!
YWCA Shelter Services
- 24 Hour Domestic Violence Hotline 937-222-SAFE (7233) After Hours Response or 937-222-6333 Deaf individuals using Video Relay ask for 937-222-7233 TTY 937-331-7112 Business Line 937-222-8946
- Provides emergency safe shelter, information & referral, and related supportive services for shelter residents. Accepts collect calls. No fees for services.
- www.ywcadayton.org Be Sure to Use a Safe Computer!
Legal Aid of Western Ohio
- 1-888-534-1432 People who are deaf can call Ohio Relay at 1-800-750-0750 and ask for 1-800-837-0814.
- Provides legal services to domestic violence victims who meet financial and other criteria.
- www.legalaidline.org Be Sure to Use a Safe Computer!
Abuser Release Notification
- VINE Registration 1-800-770-0192 (Register to be notified of abuser's release from a county jail or prison.)
YOUR RIGHTS AS A DOMESTIC VIOLENCE OR STALKING VICTIM
YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO SEEK RELIEF THROUGH CRIMINAL AND CIVIL COURT
You have the right to participate in the prosecution process. The option to "drop" charges is not available to the victim. Domestic violence is not only a crime against you; but is also a crime against the State. Therefore, once the case is accepted, the decision to "drop" charges can only be made by the prosecutor.
You have the right to provide the court with a victim impact statement. A victim impact statement may assist the court when making a decision in a case.
You have the right to request a protection order from the criminal court. A protection order issued by a criminal court will order the abuser to stay away from your residence, work, and/or school. The protection order will also order the abuser to refrain from contacting you in any way, including telephoning, harassing, or threatening you directly or through others. The kind of protection order available to you depends on your relationship with the abuser.
If you are related by blood or marriage to, have a child with, live with (as romantic partners), have lived with (as romantic partners) in the past 5 years, or are divorced from the abuser, you can request a Domestic Violence Temporary Protection Order (DVTPO). The DVTPO will be in effect from the time the abuser is served with the DVTPO until the end of the criminal case. A Civil Protection Order (CPO) lasts a longer time, is available through the civil court system, and is described below.
If you are just roommates or have not lived with the abuser in the last 5 years, are not now and have never been married to the abuser and do not have a child with the abuser, you can request a Criminal Protection Order (CRPO). The CRPO will be in effect from the time the abuser is served with the CRPO until the end of the criminal case. A Stalking And/Or Sexually Oriented Offense Protection Order (SSOOPO) lasts a longer time, is available through the civil court system, and is described below.
To obtain relief through criminal court, follow the instructions given to you by the law enforcement officer who gives you this sheet. Depending on where you live in Montgomery County, you may be instructed to go to your local police department, prosecutor's office, and/or clerk of courts. You can also call the Domestic Violence Hotline at 937-222-
SAFE (222-7233) or Artemis Center at 937-461-5091 for information about the legal system and court accompaniment.
If your abuser is found guilty, your abuser may be put in jail or prison, ordered into counseling, ordered to pay a fine, put on probation, given a suspended sentence, or a combination of the above.
If you are related by blood or marriage to, have a child with, live with (as romantic partners), have lived with (as romantic partners) in the past 5 years, or are divorced from the abuser, you can request a Civil Protection Order (CPO). It is not necessary to have an attorney to file for a CPO. However, Artemis Center suggests you speak with an attorney before you file for a CPO. If you do not have an attorney, you can request assistance and/or an attorney through Legal Aid of Western Ohio by calling toll free 1-888-534-1432 or by calling the Domestic Violence Hotline at 937-222-7233. You may also call Artemis Center at 937-461-5091. An Artemis Center advocate can also provide you with referrals to attorneys who can help. A CPO, which is free of charge and can last for up to five years, may order the following:
- Temporary custody of children
- Establish child visitation
- Child support
- Temporary use of family car
- Appointment of household items
- Treatment for the abuser
If you are just roommates or have not lived with the abuser in the last 5 years, are not related to the abuser by blood or marriage, have never been married to the abuser, and do not have a child with the abuser, you can request a Stalking And/Or Sexually Oriented Offense Protection Order (SSOOPO). It is not necessary to have an attorney to file for a SSOOPO. However, Artemis Center suggests you speak with an attorney before you file for a SSOOPO. If you do not have an attorney, you may call Artemis Center at 937-461-5091 for referrals to attorneys who can help. A SSOOPO, which is free of charge and can last for up to five years, may order treatment for the abuser. When you file for a SSOOPO, you can also ask the court to order electronic monitoring of the abuser, if available in your jurisdiction.
PROTECTION ORDER ENFORCEMENT
If your abuser violates your protection order, report the violation to your local law enforcement agency. Violating a protection order is a crime in Ohio. You have the right to enforce your protection order against the person who assaulted you. If your protection order is from Domestic Relations Court, you may also seek contempt proceedings. Remember, the protection order is against your abuser. You cannot be charged with violating your own protection order.
You may be eligible for Crime Victim Compensation for financial losses, such as medical costs and wages not covered by other insurance or benefits. Call toll free 1-800-582-2877 to find out if this option is applicable to your case. Artemis Center advocates can provide you with the necessary forms and assist you with completing them or refer you to an attorney who can help you.